The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses

Hospital Announces DAISY Award Recipients

Murphy Medical Center hosted its annual DAISY Award For Extraordinary Nurses during a ceremony held November 10. The awards were presented at the facility in recognition of the extraordinary work and patient care that nurses provide.

This year’s DAISY Award recipients were Mary Jane Burns, LPN, Linda Hoefsmit, RN, Helen Atchison, RN, Kallie Norton, RN, and Chris Woods, RN.

The DAISY (Diseases Attacking the Immune System) Award is a national program to reward excellence in the nursing profession. It was created by the DAISY Foundation to honor J. Patrick Barnes of Glen Allen CA, who passed away in 1999 from complications of an immune system disease. Bonnie Barnes, President and Co-Founder of The DAISY Foundation stated, “When Patrick was critically ill, our family experienced first-hand the remarkable skill and care nurses provide acutely ill patients every day and night. Yet these unsung heroes are seldom recognized for the superhuman work they do.”

Chief Nursing Officer Teresa Bowleg stated, “Murphy Medical Center is defined by the compassion, dedication and skill of all of our nursing staff. They are often the unrecognized professionals who will transform healthcare. I congratulate our DAISY Award winners and nominees, and am honored to serve our nurses whose practice reflects the highest standards of nursing excellence.”

Murphy Medical Center DAISY Award honorees receive a pin, certificate and hand-carved stone sculpture titled ‘A Healer’s Touch’. Additionally, everyone attending the award ceremony enjoys freshly-baked cinnamon rolls – a favorite of Patrick’s during his illness.

Fellow employees and patients are encouraged to nominate candidates for the award, based on their commitment to teamwork, quality, safety, compassion and professionalism. This year’s DAISY Award winners join the ranks of nineteen nurses who have previously received the award since the hospital adopted the recognition program in 2009.

Murphy Medical Center’s DAISY Award winners Mary Jane Burns, Linda Hoefsmit, Helen Atchison, Kallie Norton, and Chris Woods (seated from left) join fellow nominees Tobi Sellers, Kaitlin Turner, Amanda Norton, Crystal Green, Lisa Parker, Lisa Wilner, Rachel Kilpatrick, Meredith Justice, Mary Patterson, Debbie Curtis, Gracey Hughes, Vickie Martin and Angie Davis (standing from left) at the award ceremony on November 10